Dylan Ward headshot 2024 Dylan Ward

Dylan Ward, Photo by Andy Schwartz (Veritography)

BOOM Performance:
Dylan Ward – “Aeon Transfer” –

“Aeon Transfer” is a dynamic collection of instrumental music for saxophones, electric guitars, and electronics by composer Kenneth Michael Florence in collaboration with saxophonist Dylan Ward. The work is inspired by Sir Roger Penrose’s concept of Conformal Cyclic Cosmology, a theory that proposes a model of the universe in which the temporal extremities (the beginning and end states) of successive universes are identified, forming a potentially infinite chain of self-propagating space-time entities called aeons.

Aeon Transfer is an attempt to sonically portray the sort of activity that would take place along the actual boundary between two successive aeons, with the result being a polystylistic, polymetric, and polytonal excursion into the outer dimensions of musical perception.


Acclaimed for his “ethereal saxophone playing” (Vital Weekly), Dylan Ward is a saxophonist specializing in contemporary music. He has released recordings on the Neuma, Mother Brain, and XAS record labels that have been described as “meditative, jarring, and cosmic…highly creative” (Take Effect Reviews), and has been praised for presenting music that is “clear and coherent in its discourse, original in its sounds, and as beautiful and intellectually stimulating as it is playful” (Pan M 360). Ward has performed nationally at the Bang on a Can LOUD Weekend Festival, Eighth Blackbird Creative Lab, NYC Electroacoustic Music Festival, Charlotte BOOM Festival, and Lincoln Center.

Dylan Ward – Website »
Dylan Ward on Facebook »
Dylan Ward on Instagram »
Dylan Ward on SoundCloud »

Showing at: Dupp and Swatt
Show Time:
Saturday 4/27: 2:30 – 3:30pm + Artist Talk Back
Sunday 4/28: 1:30 – 2:30pm
Sunday 4/28: 7:00 – 8:00pm

Buy Tickets »

BOOM 2024 Fringe Artists »

This project was supported by the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources; the Arts & Science Council with funding from Mecklenburg County and the City of Charlotte; and the arts councils in Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, and Rowan counties.